Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
The cold/flu signs and symptoms can turn into bronchitis, which is bacterial. This can be treated with antibiotics, as well as some pneumonias, so if it got to that point, the antibiotics would help. Otherwise, you are wasting your $$ with antibiotics and viral issues...if it clears it, it was bacterial. Medicine isn't an exact science, so it's worth a shot if you are feeling poopy. If it helps, good for you! Without certain cultures/swabs, you wouldn't know what the cause was, anyhow.

Live so that when you arise in the A.M, Satan shudders & says..
'Oh sh t..she's awake!'
E
E
I still go with the Genie in the JB bottle. smile

P
pedro2
pedro2
P
The best/only cure is get vaccinated against the most common and dangerous current strain. I was just in England and vaccinations are given free there to certain groups of people - I qualified.

Influenza is to be taken seriously, as it's a killer. Though I'm just a layman and bow to any input from our resident nurse!

S
S
as a science teacher speaking in her most authoritative voice: Don't take antibiotics if you have a viral infection- it only makes the bacteria you have in your body more likely to become antibiotic resistant! Which is why we have these mega bacterial infections that can't be treated by any current antibiotics. If you have a bacterial infection, then yes, you do need antibiotics but otherwise it's best to just let the virus ride its course and do what you can to feel better.

That said, I swear by dayquil (can't take nyquil- it makes me pass out in the mornings), rest, and lots of fluids and TV/beach time.

The shot you got is most likely a vitamin complex shot that had B vitamins of some sort, and probably some iron, and zinc. Those are all things that will help you feel better if you're running low on energy and feeling icky.

do I have to get shots to go there? 8o)