Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
A
AZW Offline OP
OP Offline
A
I ran across an article on the web that I could not access, but the title of the article was "Fire Sinks Amigos Del Mar's Dive Boat" and it was dated 2/08. We are planning to dive with Amigos when we get down there next week. Can anyone tell me if they are up and running?

AZ Wayne

Yes, they are and all is well. You may reach them at
011-501-226-2706
[email protected]

A
AZW Offline OP
OP Offline
A
Thanks!

Amigos del Mar is great. You cannot go wrong with those guys. One of the oldest (if not the oldest) established dive operations on the island and great guys.

I was just diving with them a couple of weeks ago, as I have been doing a number of times a year, since 1999. They've got more than one boat. smile

Though I do look forward to the day that they replace the Miss Mel. I'm spoiled now and don't want to go out to the Atolls and Blue Hole on anything smaller, especially a boat that doesn't have a head.

A fish and a bird can fall in love, but where will they build their nest?

B
B
Unfortunately as of last week Amigos still did not have an adequate boat to travel to the Blue Hole. Had a miserable ride in a 35 or so foot open bow boat. The slamming on the waves, particularly for the unfortunates in the front of the boat and several older divers, was over the edge. On the other hand, once arrived the Amigos guys did their regular superb job. Great lunch on Half Moon Caye, so good in fact several of the dive staff from a competiors group came over to eat the Amigos lunch! My suggestion is that anyone making the Blue Hole trip, confirm what type of equipment is being used, and if it is not one of the larger boats, don't go.

I'm a dive shop and I use Amigos exclusively for the Blue Hole and Turneffe.
I trust them and their good judgment on when not to go out in bad weather. I've dove with them 20 years.

White Sands Dive Shop
https://whitesandsdiveshop.com/
P
pedro2
pedro2
P