Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#333383 04/16/09 10:37 AM
OP Offline
I am looking to open a bank account while I'm there in May and apparently need 2 bank references to do so as I'm currently a non resident. Can anyone tell me the information they need on the reference? When I asked for a reference at my bank I was received with blank stares and confusion.

E
E
ds, something like this, it worked for me.

Our banking relationship with (fill in the blank) has been very satisfactory. Accounts include checking, savings, money market etc,etc.

signed by an officer

Ernie B #333390 04/16/09 11:00 AM
OP Offline
thanks

Also, if you are married, both names have to appear on the letters of reference. They need to show a standing of good record for a year. You will need two different bank references. A copy of your SSN is also requested. I just opened one in Feb and did not include the wifes name on the letters. Ergo, shes not on the account as of now.

Reality is only an illusion that occurs due to a lack of alcohol
P
P
I don't see how the SSN can be required as it only exists in the USA. I've opened several bank accounts in Belize and wasn't asked any such questions.

Peter, I have not had a ssn card for years and had to get one before I went down. They in fact asked me for it and made a copy. This was not even an off-shore account I opened. Its just a Belize account. I think is has to do with the 9-11 stuff.

Last edited by champion; 04/16/09 06:48 PM.

Reality is only an illusion that occurs due to a lack of alcohol
Just the letters from the bank saying you are in good standings. I have never used my SSN on anything in BZ.

T
T