Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
K
K
hell, with enough one barrell in your system, thats gonna kill any virus imaginable.

M
M
Lobster..I am a nurse, and before going last fall I did check with the health department. I was most concerned because my 73 year old mother was traveling with us. The health department told me that they did recommend the Hepatitis vaccines(which I have had, but my husband did not, and did not take). They said that if you were going to a coastal resort area you did not need malaria pills. Mom's MD, however, did recommend that she take pills for malaria, but she only took a few, had NO problems. We were only there for a week, but we ate everything, even from the street vendors. My husband always has the "revenge" during trips to Mexico, but no problems with AC. Again, do what your physician recommends, or what you think is best for you!

Mary and Scott
B
OP Offline
B
Mary... Thanks for your thoughts... Here's what I am taking away from all these comments... If you feel a need for caution, or if you are vulnerable through age, infirmity or sensitivity to the environment or food/liquid ingestion, you should do what you think makes sense for you... Conversely, if you don't have any bad experiences visiting foreign countries such as Mexico or others similar, then an unprotected week in AC probably doesn't represent a threat. I have seen messages from a few people who had experiences getting sick from food and so it's not without precedent, but it also doesn't seem to be common either. So I have not have had any bad experiences in many parts of Mexico and have not been careful about drinking the water or eating the food, but I did get ptomaine poisoning once from a hamburg eaten at a Los Angeles California fast food restaurant....

Art