David Henderson captures 6th Annual OW By-Pass Criterium

[Linked Image] The Belize Cycling Association in conjunction with the Orange Walk Central Sporting Committee held its 6th Annual Orange Walk By-Pass Criterium on Monday October 11, 2010. The 60 miles event attracted some 44 riders in the Elite and Under 23 category.

At the end of 2:22:37, it was David Henderson of Team INDECO who captured 1st place. The second rider to cross the finish line was Donizetti Vasquez of Team Despredadores. Peter Choto of Zamir Cycling Team finished third, with Geovanni Choto of Western Spirit finishing fourth while Christian McNish of Benny's Megabytes finished fifth in a time of 2:23:07 to round off the top finishers.

The other finishers include Darnell Barrow of Santino's Belize in a time of 2:23:07, Eduardo Lada of Team Despredadores, Leroy Casasola of Santino's Belize, Geon Hanson of Team INDECO, and Angel Tzib of Western Spirit in that order.

In the Masters Category which covered a total distance of 30 miles some 30 riders participated in the event. At the end of the course it was Michael Lewis, unattached, who took first place in a time of 1:13:46. Roque Matus of M&M Engineering finished second, Barney Brown, unattached, finished third, Omar Gomez of Team Despredadores finished fourth, and Henry Morera, unattached, finished fifth.

The other finishers were Ronald "Jack" Sutherland of Santino's Cycling Team, Carlos Castelan of Despredadores, Albert Conorquie Sr. of Typhoon Cycling Team, Santino Castillo of Santino's Cycling Team, and Sherwin Latchman who is unattached.

In the Junior category, some 33 riders participated in the 40 miles event. The first rider to cross the finish line was Austin Armstrong of Clear the Land Club in a time of 1:43:07, second place went to Daniel Choto of Cayo High Road Cycling, third place went to Deezan Spence of Clear the Land Club, fourth place went to Oscar Qurious of Cayo Uprising Cycling Team, and fifth place went to Joel Borland of Team INDECO.


Live and let live