Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#39130 05/12/01 03:18 AM
T
OP Offline
T
My friend is going to school in San Pedro and he invited me down for the summer. I am 23 and bilingual in Spanish and English. I am a US permanent resident and a Mexican citizen. What kind of job can I get? I'm just looking for something to bring in some money. I actually have a college degree, but if I moved down I was thinking of some thing in the tourist field or bartending. Any suggestions or advice on what I should expect would be appreciated.

the "law" says you cannot work w/out a permit and you can't take a job a Belizean citizen can do!! Good Luck

Here is a reprint of the laws regarding work permits.

Work Permits

There are two types of work permit applications: a) Application for permission to employ a foreigner: Any foreign citizen who wishes to work in Belize MUST be a legal resident (have resided in Belize for at least six months). He or she must be in the country legally, with proper visas and/or permits issued by the Immigration Department. The prospective employer must submit the following to the Labour Department: The application for the foreign worker he wishes to hire; three passport photos; $10 in stamps; a valid passport; and proof that this individual is qualified for the job. At the same time, the Labour officer must be satisfied that all efforts to employ a Belizean have been exhausted. This includes providing proof that the vacant position was advertised locally for at least three weeks, following which, no suitable applicant was found;