The Belizean Society of Composers Authors Publishers, BSCAP (pronounced Biscap), held its first annual general meeting Thursday February 24th in Dangriga, Belize. The historic meeting seated its first permanent Board of Directors (the "Board") and thereby formally established BSCAP as the only collective management organization fully operating in the territory of Belize.

The Board is comprised of five members: publisher members Heather Cunningham, Esq. and Joseph Guerrero, writer member Jason Guerrero, producer member Dale Davis, and performer member Lensford "Supa G" Martinez. In addition, the Board is complemented by an Advisory Board comprised of three members (currently the National Institute of Culture and History (NICH) and two others who will be announced shortly).

Among the many challenges that exist, BSCAP is immediately focusing on 1) increasing and diversifying its membership; 2) educating members, industry stakeholders and the general public about copyright, creative content and the value of protecting creative content; 3) licensing key music users throughout the territory of Belize; and 4) expanding BSCAP's foreign repertoire by continuing to secure reciprocal agreements with similar societies worldwide. BSCAP thanks all who sat as provisional board members during the past several years and whose work has been the bedrock upon which BSCAP now builds as we move forward.