Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#41540 06/29/01 02:22 AM
KC Offline OP
OP Offline
My daughter's friend who is going with us to AC wants to know how she can phone home to let mom and dad know she got there safe and sound. I think we need to buy a phone card, but where does one do that? I assume it needs to be bought on AC -- not here in the states? I'm a novice at this... never used a phone card in my life.

Thanks,
Kathy

"You're braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think."
#41541 06/29/01 06:21 AM
C
cjd Offline
C
We were there last month and called home collect to Connecticut and a five minute call was about $18 via AT&T. To get AT&T I think you need to dial 811 then the area code and phone number. I dont think thats too bad a price for an international collect call. I've heard numerous horror stories about people calling from hotels in Mexico and getting billed for like $200 for a 3 minute call. As long as you get an ATT line, at least you know there's some level of regulation of cost. Do a search for past posts on this board. About 2 months ago there was a thread mentioning rates of like $.50/minute from Belize to the US. I dont know if thats for real though. My in-state rates in CT are more than that!

#41542 06/29/01 08:02 AM
I reccommend that if your calling back to the US that you use AT&T cards or sprint cards, it is the most economical. But if calling within Belize, get a BZE phone card from BTL. I know oyu can buy them at a few places, and I think the grocery store is one of them. I know the airport has them.

#41543 06/29/01 09:06 AM