Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
F
FyreDragn
FyreDragn
F
Would like to buy an internet dongle for laptop for either Smart or Digicell.

S
S
This is the one you get from BTL: http://www.amazon.com/4596-3G-Mobil..._3?ie=UTF8&qid=1321839189&sr=8-3

You can save a bit buying online but by the time you pay duty and shipping you may as well get it from BTL.

P
P
The SMART one (CDMA) costs Bz$185, and there are choices of data packages. If their phone calls are anything to go by, performance will be more reliable than from Digicell - though I have no direct experience.

F
FyreDragn
FyreDragn
F
Originally Posted by PROBUS
The SMART one (CDMA) costs Bz$185, and there are choices of data packages. If their phone calls are anything to go by, performance will be more reliable than from Digicell - though I have no direct experience.

I think this weeks San Pedro newspaper shows a $90BZ package of some kind, was curious though if anyone had one they wanted to part with before getting a brand new one.

Have you had any experience with these USB dongles?

S
S
I use the BTL one when I'm out sailing and it works fine for me.

F
FyreDragn
FyreDragn
F
Thanks for the info everyone. I travel throughout Belize quite a bit, is the coverage area for the BTL one good?

P
P
Originally Posted by FyreDragn
I think this weeks San Pedro newspaper shows a $90BZ package of some kind

Yes, but they don't mention that you also have to buy the dongle for Bz$185. I know - I went into SMART to sign up.

As to signal strength, I find Digicell reliable when away from buildings, such as out on the water, but in town there are some dead areas. I only bought a SMART phone in addition to Digicell because Digicell doesn't work reliably in or near my house.

Link Copied to Clipboard
March
S M T W T F S
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Cayo Espanto
Click for Cayo Espanto, and have your own private island
More Links