Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#431769 02/29/12 07:03 PM
P
pirk Offline OP
OP Offline
P
Hello all,

I'm looking for some advice on options to call back to the US as well as making calls within Belize.

First a little back story . . . I'm an doctoral student in anthropology and I will be beginning by fieldwork in Belize (Cayo District) soon. Overall, I will be spending 12 months in Belize. I am wondering what my best options will be for the cheapest way to make calls both within Belize and back to the US? Since I'm staying an extended period of time, renting a phone most likely isn't an option. Also, what is the deal with voip services like viber or skype. I know that BTL blocks these, but can a VPN be used to by-pass?

Thanks!!!

Last edited by pirk; 02/29/12 07:04 PM.
R
ron Offline
R
One way that's easy is to either bring and unlocked phone with you from the states or buy a phone here. Buy minutes like everyone else does and you dial direct to the states. I think it cost about $.50 a minute or less. Voip is blocked but many people claim to use a VPN to get around it.

C
C
VOIP, true its blocked but many ways to get around that, lots of people using it, you can get an easy answer to that when you get here. It can be set up here. Dont want to post it. I use Skype.
Unlocked cell phones are easiest. Every week or so you can buy double and triple minutes. Usually on Fridays if you buy $50 worth of time on your cell phone you will get $150 credit. making U.S. calls about 15 cents a minute, local much less. Under $50 will get you double the minutes....

LONELY PLANET SAYS TOURIST LOVE OUR ART. BEST PRICES ON ART.
K
K
Can't help you in country, but if you have an Iphone, you can text any other Iphone at home.

Flyfishing my way through mid-life crisis.
P
pirk Offline OP
OP Offline
P
Thank you for the advice. I think I'll go the unlocked phone route. Any suggestions on a model of phone to buy here in the US? I've heard that not all phones will work with a Belize SIM card.