Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#455389 01/16/13 03:33 PM
D
dwilken Offline OP
OP Offline
D
folks, i'm the guy with the kayak thread. my next issue.... i read an old thread that i can't find now in which someone explained to bring light rubber "bait" instead of cranks & spinners etc... it was a great thread. i was wondering about color though. should i get bright and wild, or dark color rigs. i'll be staying on the far southern tip and hope to fish right out back as well as at the split. not much of a guide guy.... i live on lake erie and have fished since i was in diapers. anyway, any tips would be appreciated-dave

J
J

You can use anything that looks and acts like a sardine. I have been fishing at the Caye for the last five years and sardines are the best. I also use #4 circle hooks. It allows you to release the fish unharmed. If you're fishing for Permit you'll need some live crabs. If you fishing for some snapper at the split....cut up some hot dogs.
Good Luck and tight lines...

M
M
Haywood Curry at Anglers Abroad may be a good resource.

http://www.anglersabroad.com/index.htm

J
J
Mike.....

he said he's not a "guide guy".

If he wants a guide I'd have said Heywood or Parnell Coc.

J
J
Mike....I just checked the "sea dreams" website...I apologize...Haywood is available for shore fishing information. I couldn't find his room rates online...have you stayed there?

Joe

M
M
I have not stayed there. The place is beautiful though! Haywood and Heidi are wonderful folk and I'm sure a chat with him will yield very useful information about shore fishing on the caye.

D
dwilken Offline OP
OP Offline
D
thanks for the info. if i'm fishing for my supper and used to mild fish (crappies, yellow perch, bluegills) what should i be fishing for? and thanks for the hook tip, i wondered what size to bring. all my stuff is for pan fish or walleyes-dave

D
D