Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 246
N
OP Offline
N
We have and still have terrible internet connection - unable to send emails and receiving emails intermittently. Can't connect to Safari, but can to FAcebook.


What is going on?!

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 11,062
Offline
you connected here...... and how do you connect to FB without your browser?


_ _ _ _ _ _ _________________ _ _ _ _ _ _
But then what do I know, I am but a mere caveman
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,479
S
Offline
S
Try changing your DNS setting to 8.8.8.8 (Google DNS) or get a VPN. Some idiot in tech has buggered up the whole system (not that they would ever admit it).

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 13,675
Offline
I'm about to try, this is raising the bar for most laypersons SimonB.
easy for you to understand but new tricks for an old dog.If you never hear from me again I'm lost in Cyberspace.
https://developers.google.com/speed/public-dns/docs/using


White Sands Dive Shop
https://whitesandsdiveshop.com/
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,461
K
Offline
K
I can access this site and a few others, but not most others.


Belize based travel specialist
www.belize-trips.com
[email protected]
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,479
S
Offline
S
Go into Control Panel, Network (each operating system has it's own name for that), right click on the network adapter description, go to TCP/IP and instead of using automatic DNS change the DNS to 8.8.8.8

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 13,675
Offline
did the 8.8.8.8 thing and no difference.
Amazing how ambergriscaye.com is the only place i can go everything else , like my email can't be loaded. this hurts my business real bad. no email just shuts me down.


White Sands Dive Shop
https://whitesandsdiveshop.com/
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 188
T
t42 Offline
Offline
T
Simon it is working for me a quick questiion when BTL gets it sorted will this setting have to go back to the automatic that we just changed? Thanks

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,479
S
Offline
S
No, you can keep it on that DNS. I've just changed all of our work systems to those settings and all ours are now working fine. Before I changed several sites wouldn't load.

If you want more info on the Google DNS (8.8.8.8) just Google "Google DNS".

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,479
S
Offline
S
Elbert, did you change all the network adapters on you computer to 8.8.8.8? It should work fine unless you have multiple adapter and changed the wrong one. If you have Windows 7 there will be network icon in the lower right. Right click on that and then select Open Network and Sharing Center and then click on Change Adapter Settings.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
February
S M T W T F S
1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29
Cayo Espanto
Click for Cayo Espanto, and have your own private island
More Links
Click for exciting and adventurous tours of Belize with Katie Valk!
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 169 guests, and 0 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums44
Topics79,192
Posts499,999
Members20,449
Most Online7,413
Nov 7th, 2021



AmbergrisCaye.com CayeCaulker.org HELP! Visitor Center Goods & Services San Pedro Town
BelizeSearch.com Message Board Lodging Diving Fishing Things to Do History
BelizeNews.com Maps Phonebook Belize Business Directory
BelizeCards.com Picture of the Day

The opinions and views expressed on this board are the subjective opinions of Ambergris Caye Message Board members
and not of the Ambergris Caye Message Board its affiliates, or its employees.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5