In a Government Press Conference this morning, Minister of Immigration Godwin Hulse announced over the radio that Belize has stopped issuing visas to persons of West African countries where the Ebola virus is currently a health problem.

These include Guinea, Liberia, Nigeria and Sierra Leone.

Citizens from these countries, under the new Immigration protocol which is effective immediately, are prohibited from travelling to Belize.

Minister Hulse also announced that no cruise ship passenger who has been to Ebola affected areas of West Africa in the last 30 days will be allowed to disembark in Belize.

Minister Hulse says that immediately the manifest of cruise ships will be closely vetted to ensure that this new measure is strictly adhered to.