The 2015 BzSA Board from left to right: Keith Hardwick, Tammy Peterson, Tony Ricardez, Sharon Hardwick, Gerard Coudts, Amanda Syme, Douglas Gabourel, Forrest Jones, Andrew Milner, Trenton MIller, Renae Sersland, Joy White. Absent: Charlie Jones

The Belize Sailing Association (BzSA) is the popular NGO that developed the country's Optimist dinghy sailing programme and promotes all recreational sailing. BzSA held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Saturday January 10, 2015, at St. Catherine Academy in Belize City. In attendance to fill by election all13 board positions for 2015 were 44 of the 150 association members.

After thanking the outgoing board members for the accomplishments they achieved in 2014 and for their devotion of time, effort, and ingenuity, Mr Joel Wade, 1st Vice Chairman of the National Sports Council, dissolved the 2014 board and officiated the election process to install the 2015 board. The results are as follows:

Ms. Sharon Hardwick
Ms. Amanda Syme
Ms. Renae Sersland, MD
Race Officer:
Mr. Tony Ricardez
Equipment Officer:
Mr. Keith Hardwick
Training Officer:
Trenton Miller
Development Officer:
Andrew Milner
Public Relations Officer:
Forrest Jones
Optimist Chair:
Ms. Joy White
Grand Fleet Chair:
Mr. Gerard Cordts
Adult Racing Chair:
Mr Douglas Gabourel
Club Representative Liaison:
Ms. Tammy Peterson
Merchandising and Fundraising:
Ms. Charlie Jones

After the new board assumed office, several progressive changes to the Optimist dinghy program for cadets (ages 8-15) were voted in. The members voted to change the annual Belize National Championship Regatta from one that cadets had to qualify for to a regatta open to all. The winner will be crowned Belize National Champion and receive the Denys Bradley Perpetual trophy. The board reduced the number of annual regional regattas from 7 to 5. The top performances in that series of 5 regattas will determine which cadets will take home highly coveted Belize Sailors of the Year trophies.