Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
OP Offline
Hi there,
I am happy to be a part of this forum. I have been a self employed chef for 19 years, a Hurricane Katrina survivor who lived in Napa, CA. post- Katrina, and is now living in St. Petersburg, FL.
I am orginally from New Orleans ( hence the Hurricane Katrina mention ), and I am at a crossroads in my life. There is no work where I live, for the type of work I do. I have been flying back to New Orleans to teach cooking classes, which has been a success, but the bottom line is- I am tired of the rat race and crap.
I have always wanted to live in a tropical setting, and I am planning to visit Belize to see if it's a good fit for me. I am pretty confused about all of it right now, so I appeal to you to help me by answering some questions, please.
Is it possible for me to work as a private chef in Belize or host cooking classes? I would prefer to stay self employed, and also don't know the scoop on that. I would not plan to set up as a corporation, just simply be a chef there, so I would have a stream of income.
What are some places you would recommend for accommodations there that are reasonable? I am doing this on a shoestring budget, so I have to be careful.
I think that's about all I have right now. If anyone is interested in reading about what I do, and my backround, my website address is:
Real Maria
Thanks in advance for the help.
Maria

"Stay at the center of the circle and let all things take their course." ~ Tao Te Ching
Hello Maria,....Always nice to meet a culinary pro.....And one who has worked in Napa adds even more interest....When you get to San Pedro please come by and visit with me....We can play in my kitchen and chat up ingredients.....Fun stuff out here in Belize....Feel free to send me an e-mail for other details........In the meantime 'Mise en place' smile

My friends call me Judyann

www.blackorchidrestaurant.com
Hi Maria. Your food looks amazing!