Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#516348 07/31/16 07:08 PM
G
OP Offline
G
I was doing a long swim on Saturday from the old Palapa bar to the Grand Caribe around 1:30 when the captain of Coastal Express diverted his southerly route and came directly towards me full throttle. He quickly turned the boat away from me and pointed directly to the shore, implying that I should be closer to shore. This aggressive bullying behaviour on his part was not necessary as I was well within the boundaries in line with the end of the dock and was currently in waste deep water.
Where can I do laps without being in danger from boat traffic? I've been coming here since 2008 and never had a confrontation or have had scare tactics like that before from a captain while I was doing laps.

Go South #516362 08/01/16 08:46 AM
Were you dragging a swimming buoy? If not then it can be nearly impossible to spot swimmers. Our boats do go into the shallows on a routine run. No doubt the captain was actually concerned for you and for the others that would be impacted if you did get run over. We have a lot more boat traffic now and not all Captains are as experienced other others. Perhaps working with the tour guide association in conjunction with the Coastal management team some swimming lanes can be established.

Go South #516372 08/01/16 11:18 AM
I have to stop my boat often and warn swimmers. Chopping them up in the prop is a mess and makes the captain feel awful. I can understand if you got an attitude from him. This is 2016 and we have 10 times the amount of boats and half of those new captains are snowbirds that haven't a clue. It's not OK to swim in and around the docks anymore. Way to much boat traffic.

White Sands Dive Shop
https://whitesandsdiveshop.com/
Go South #516374 08/01/16 11:53 AM
R
R