Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#517696 09/21/16 01:01 AM
E
OP Offline
E
Hi everyone,

I recently purchased a lot on the island. I am not ready to build just yet, but doing some background research so I know what to expect. My lot is on the northern part of the island and the land would need to be cleared before building. I am wondering what the approximate cost of clearing land is and an estimate of the number of hours it would take to clear land for 9000 Sq feet? Also looking for recommendations on reputable companies to do this as well as reputable builders. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated as I am pretty new to this and trying to figure out where to begin and somewhat of an idea of the costs involved. I am assuming any equipment would need to be brought in on a barge or something as there is currently still limited road access (but it's getting there!)

Thanks in advance!

Land clearing is generally best done by manual labour. That way you can save the vegetation you want and the soil remains more intact. Usually costs less that way as well. Cost for clearing varies depending on how dense the vegetation is.
Recommend not doing anything until time to build as it will just grow back. Your builder can probably arrange the clearing of the land.

E
OP Offline
E
Thanks Diane,

Any recommendations for builders? Are most companies fairly honest and straight forward in their business dealings? Anything you would watch out for with regards to choosing a builder or advice on HOW to find or choose a reputable builder?

E
OP Offline
E
At least with manual labour, although the time taken to clear land will be longer, the cost of moving large pieces of equipment up north won't be an issue. That's good to know. Plus I didn't like the idea of just bulldozing all the trees...I would LOVE to keep what I can! smile