Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Marty Offline OP
OP Offline

Fishermen in Placencia are farming seaweed off the Belize Barrier reef in the Caribbean Sea.

Marty Offline OP
OP Offline

I'm a Seaweed Farmer

Lowell Godfrey, Fisherman and Seaweed Farmer in Placencia

Marty Offline OP
OP Offline

Belize Seaweed: The Next Big Thing for Fisheries

At the fourth International Marine Conservation Congress (IMCC) held in St John's Newfoundland, Canada, Julianne Robinson from The Nature Conservancy explained how Belize's waters can offer more than just fishing income to support those living in coastal communities. The focus of this income diversification - seaweed mariculture.

Fishing has long formed part of the Belize culture, providing an important source of food and income for its many coastal communities.

Like many coastal nations, Belize’s fisheries have seen declines in fisheries from over exploitation and destructive fishing practices. Increasing coastal development, and climate change impacts on the ocean adds to the pressures on the low-tech, small-scale fisheries that dominate Belize’s coastal communities. Income diversification is increasingly becoming a necessity.

Working with Belize’s Placencia Fishermen Cooperative, Ms Robinson and colleagues at The Nature Conservancy developed and tested pilot mariculture farms. Working with the local community has been a central feature in the development of the mariculture project, which focuses on the red seaweed Euchemia isiforme.

Ms Robinson noted that many of Belize’s coastal communities are poverty stricken. It is by working with these communities, Ms Robinson urges, that they can become “great ocean stewards”, supporting not only their own livelihoods but contributing to healthy Belize waters that can also support other industries. The Placencia fishers have – and continue – to play a crucial role in the design of the farms, and experiments with new techniques.