Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
B
BrendaP Offline OP
OP Offline
B
Greetings - Newbie here.
I recently lost my mother - and my only child will be off to college in another year - so I have found myself seriously considering a complete change of location. After looking around a bit, Ambergris Caye is high on my interest list! I've done a bunch of "googling", but came across this forum and figured y'all would be a much better resource!
I'm thinking of building, since I'm not looking at needing to be there immediately. I have some friends who are also considering making this move. How do I find the zoning and building/code requirements? We're thinking off maybe finding a larger parcel of land and building 3 separate houses on it.

Thanks in advance for any information!!

You will want to work with a realtor and a builder to get the info. There is a master plan but it is only a guideline and we don't have true hard and set rules. We do have a building authority and planning office but until you have a specific property in mind you won't be able to get full regulations for anything. Basic rule of thumb - now - 4 storey height limit (unless you are near an aerodrome) in some places - some places will limit you to 2 storeys, or 3 and in some cases you may be able to build 5. As far as set backs - generally 10ft on each side, 20 from the front and 10 from the back line. However, this varies too - in town set backs are 2 - 4 ft - new construction is often 15ft. You will need to be on municipal sewer system but that isn't available everywhere so then you will need to have an approved septic waste system. You might need an environment impact study..... As you can see, variables are the only constant !