Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
R
OP Offline
R
Anyone know which resort or so operates the largest r/o water system? Shallow well or straight salt water from west side?

Would like to contact them maybe for quick tour. They use low wells and r/o system at hotel near me and not so expensive. Thinking small version for my house.

Roberto

I have some experience with these systems. Larger ones will use water from a deep well (150 feet or so) and a second injection well is used for disposal of brine (around 200 feet).
Have tried using sea water but sediment tended to foul the system quite often.
These systems need to be run often to keep the membranes in good condition. They tend to produce much more water than a single household can consume.
Perhaps a small system, like one on a boat would work for a home - not at all sure on that.

R
OP Offline
R
Thank you miss diane. I did not think so deep a well. Had me thinking 10 o 15 meters. And disposal of brine is done differently. Much to learn.
Your info is very helpful. I am going to Caribe to talk to man there tomorrow. I believe he is in charge of system

Roberto

S
S
We use one of these at our camp up north on the back of the island: https://www.rainmandesal.com/

Produces a gallon every two minutes from seawater. No electronics to fail, just a single pressure valve. Pre-filter can be bought at any hardware store. Fantastic units, equally fantastic company/service.

Originally Posted by SFJeff
We use one of these at our camp up north on the back of the island: https://www.rainmandesal.com/

Produces a gallon every two minutes from seawater. No electronics to fail, just a single pressure valve. Pre-filter can be bought at any hardware store. Fantastic units, equally fantastic company/service.

WOW - great product!

R
OP Offline
R

Mr Jeff
This seems very unique and with standard filter. Nice.

I see they are from Australias. Was there any issues with importing except for duty?