The National Women’s Commission held its Inaugural Meeting with the newly appointed Board of Commissioners on February 11, 2021.

Honorable Dolores Balderamos Garcia, Honorable Gilroy Usher and CEO Tanya Santos Neal were present during the first portion of the meeting to officially install the Board of Commissioners. The National Women’s Commission falls under the portfolio of the Ministry of Human Development, Families and Indigenous Peoples’ Affairs.

The Board of Commissioners pledged to help advocate for issues related to the advancement of women; monitor the implementation and fulfillment of the standards, principles, and goals outlined in international commitments such as CEDAW, the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action, the Belem Do Para Convention on eliminating Violence of Women, among others; serve as an advisory body to the Ministry with responsibility for women and gender issues; and work towards more effective and efficient planning and coordination efforts among relevant stakeholders on matters relating to women and gender.

The newly installed Board of Commissioners will be led by the President - Thea Garcia Ramirez, Vice President - Marissa Cervantes Martin, Treasurer – Pastora Castillo, Secretary – Dorla Vaughan.

Other Commissioners include Anthony Sabal, Wendy Cabral Williams, Geovannie Brackett, Chelsea Cruz, Aurelia Cal, Kristina Romero, Major Jonathan Kellman, Dr. Lesly Perez and Ashanti Arthurs Martin. Commissioners hail from throughout the country.

In related news, Arreini Palacio Morgan has been appointed Chairperson of the National Committee for Families and Children.