The Central Bank of Belize, the country’s chief financial institution, has appointed a new chairman, with almost no fanfare, just a quiet update to their website. Former Governor Sydney Campbell returns to Gaol Lane as presiding officer of the Central Bank Board of Directors. Campbell served as governor under the Musa administration between 2003 and 2008, before being succeeded by Glen Ysaguirre. Joining him on the newly constituted board are Sol Espejo-Molina, Neri Matus and Giacomo Sanchez, as members. Financial Secretary Joseph Waight, Governor Joy Grant and Deputy Governor Marilyn Gardiner-Usher are all ex-officio members, while Kareem Michael is Deputy Governor alternate. The Central Bank board is the final statutory body to be constituted since the People’s United Party took office following the November eleventh, 2020 general elections.

Channel 5