The National Agriculture and Trade Show (NATS) Committee, under the auspices of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food Security and Enterprise, announces the winners of the Farmer of the Year Competition as follows:

1. Male Farmer of the Year - Orlando Ek [Corozal District]

2. Female Farmer of the Year -Mrs. Norma Figueroa [Cayo District]

3. Junior Farmer of the Year - Mr. Darwin Orellana [Belize District]

The committee would like to congratulate all winners for their hard work and dedication in ensuring the sector remains vibrant and valuable to Belize's resilience to climate and economic shocks. The NATS 2022 Committee would also like to highlight a notable female farmer, Ms. Krystle Romero, from the Toledo District. Ms. Romero is the 2nd place finisher in the Female Farmer of the Year category and was very close in points to the winner. While the competition traditionally only recognizes the top finishers in each category, the evaluators felt that Ms. Romero, who can be classified as a junior female farmer, shows great potential for the future.

The National Agriculture and Trade Show (NATS) Committee reminds the public that the National Agriculture and Trade Show 2022 will be held on May 27, 28, and 29, 2022 under the theme "Innovations in Technology: Driving a Climate Resilient and Competitive Agriculture and Food Sector".