Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
#82849 03/25/04 05:54 PM
D
DoubleE Offline OP
OP Offline
D
Angelo, I am not too good with a fly rod as I have only messed in small bever ponds for brook trout! Anyone spincast for these Silver Kings? I guess I do have all summer to practice up with my fly rod!

#82850 03/26/04 12:55 AM
DoubleE - we've fished tarpon in Costa Rica and Florida with spin tackle, and had a blast! We may try fly fishing for them this June in Belize for the first time, but we're not real good at fly fishing, so we're also bringing our spin tackle as "backup"! Tarpon are awesome fish to catch (actually, we've hooked more than we've actually caught, because they have really bony mouths and setting the hook is kind of a challenge, not to mention the fact that they tailwalk and do everything else you can think of to throw the hook...) Good luck whatever you fish with, and if you get any good leads on guides in Caulker, let us know at [email protected] or with a post on this board. wink Sharon

#82851 03/26/04 09:30 AM
Hey Sharon,

Where in Costa Rica? Quepos? Crocodile Bay? I hear there are monster Tarpon there.

I've considered bringing a medium spin outfit as well if I have the room. The last time I tried fly in salt was Andros. Casting a floating line with a light fly into the winds you see out on the Caribbean flats is akin to casting into a brick wall.

You're right about their mouths being like concrete. If you sharpen your hooks to a fine point, they'll usually bend at the tip(at least on larger Tarpon) and won't stick so the point should be more of a spade, short, and sharpened on three sides. You have to set the hook like 3 times on these puppies to get it to stick.

The Permit should be easier on spin and with live bait. In Andros, they would use live shrimp retrieved in bursts and left to sink. Not sure what the preferred bait for Permit would be here, except for the obvious small crab.

Angelo
#82852 03/26/04 01:15 PM