Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#94652 12/21/04 02:29 PM
J
JR Offline OP
OP Offline
J
Hi everyone,

My wife and I are on Ambergris Caye for our honeymoon during the last two weeks of January. I have a few questions regarding the local diving.

1) My wife does not dive, however I do. Since I am without a dive buddy will I have a hard time finding a dive guide who will hook me up with a larger group?

2) As I mentioned in the subject line I am a novice PADI Open Water diver(quite a few freshwater salvage dives, but I have not dove in saltwater)who has recently completed a PADI refresher course. In addition to an easy dive to shake the rust off(Hol Chan Cut?) and an in shore dive, I would like to participate in an all day offshore dive.Are there any dive operators on the island who offer trips to the Turneffe(sp?) Atoll for divers of my experience level?

3) My final question: Is anyone in a similar dive budddy-less situation with a similar level of diving experience? If so I am interested in joining up for a dive.

thanks, any info would help.

As to question one: Nope. Not a problem. Any shop can hook you up.

Two: Yes. Most shops do trips to Turneffe, I believe. Amigos Del Mar, www.amigosdive.com, has the biggest (most comfortable) boat for the three-hour ride out and back. If it's choppy, you'll want to be on their Pro 48. They do two Turneffe trips. Check with them when you get there as to your skill and comfort levels.

Three: Nope. Will have been there just before you and again in March.

Have a great honeymoon and some great diving as well!

* I Go Pogo *
Definitely do Hol Chan, it's a good checkout dive, 30 ft, and is also pretty with a lot of structure and critters. A good entry into salt water diving. Remember to add some weight, salt water is a bit more floaty than fresh. If your honey snorkels, you can both go out on the same boat. If she doesn't go, it is just a short trip and you'll only be away from her for a few hours max.