Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#95802 01/13/05 05:19 PM
C
Caddis Offline OP
OP Offline
C
I have been reading through the archives of this site and have gained a lot of insite, that said I still have a few questions regarding flats fishing with a fly rod. I am planning on hiring a guide early on then trying to fish on my own. This is my first time flats fishing so I belive I would like to focus on bonefish rather than suffer the apparent rejection that comes with permit. I do fish quite a bit on Idaho's and Montana's rivers so I am not new to fly fishing, just flats fishing.

Does moon phase have any great effect on catching fish? I will be on Ambergris Apr 2-9 which is waning half to new moon. Here in Idaho that is good news, full moon is bad. Also, is there times of the day when it is more productive than others (i.e., tides or sun position) and are there absolute dead times not to waste my time?

I have read in the archives of a few recommended guides but much of that information is more than one year old. Any current recommendations and contact information for those guides would be greatly appreciated.

#95803 01/13/05 06:12 PM