AmbergrisCaye.com Home
By STEPHEN RIPLEY, MANAGING EDITOR
http://winnipegsun.com/SundayFocus/2006/02/19/1450781-sun.html

TURNEFFE ATOLL, Belize -- One fish, two fish, red fish, blue fish ... 35 years after I first read those words, I finally understand what Dr. Seuss was getting at.

I'm floating face-down in the Caribbean Sea, transfixed by the kaleidoscope of colour and motion exploding before my eyes. A school of yellow-and-black porkfish to my left, a half-dozen deep-blue angelfish to my right, and pair of pink squirrelfish right in front of me, their huge black-rimmed eyes staring at the sunburned, begoggled intruder.

It's my first time snorkeling and I couldn't have chosen a better place. The Belize Barrier Reef is the second-longest coral reef in the world, and it's a lot easier and cheaper to get to than its more famous cousin in Australia. It hugs almost the entire 300-km length of the Belizean coastline, from Ambergris Caye in the north to Punta Gorda in the south. I'm floating smack-dab in the middle, at Blackbird Caye resort on the southernmost tip of a group of coral islands known collectively as Turneffe Atoll.

UNDERSEA WONDERS

Most of the other guests at Blackbird this week have gone scuba diving today, leaving me, an American couple named Edie and Christian, and our guide Cristobal to explore the shallows. Behind the wheel of one of Blackbird's dive boats, Cristobal speeds us to one of his favourite spots and weighs anchor, being careful to do so on a sandy spot away from the fragile coral heads.

It takes me 15 minutes or so to get the hang of my rental mask, snorkel and flippers, but after that it's smooth sailing. Smacking his fist against his open palm, Cristobal gets our attention in the water, pointing out such hard-to-spot wonders as a lobster under a rock, a flat flounder with both eyes on the same side of its body poking out of the sand, and an orange, metre-long tiger tail sea cucumber which retracts into the coral when disturbed.