The 2018 Annual Tourism Awards

Posted By: Marty

The 2018 Annual Tourism Awards - 10/21/18 12:23 PM

Part 1

Part 2

A Re-cap of a night to remember "Recognizing Excellence in Service"

Click photos for more pictures!

Posted By: Marty

Re: The 2018 Annual Tourism Awards - 10/23/18 10:43 AM

The Belize Tourism Board (BTB) celebrated its signature event, the highly anticipated 16th National Tourism Awards Gala Event on Saturday, October 20th at Caribbean Motors in Belize City.

The 16th National Tourism Awards was the zenith for the accomplishments made over the past year by our local industry partners. All this hard work and dedication did not go unnoticed as the BTB acknowledged our tourism professionals in the areas of Front line Personnel, Hospitality Award, Hotel of the Year, Small Accommodations of the Year, Tour Guide of the Year, Tour Operator of the Year, Restaurant of the Year, Tour Guide Association of the Year, Major Festival/Event of the Year, Tourism Site of the Year, Top Performing Hotel, the Minister’s Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The theme of the night was “Celebrating Excellence”, a setting that was most fitting for the tourism stars of Belize, which depicts the diversity of Belize’s tourism product. This year’s winners are as follows:




Frontline Personnel

Nikita Young

Chabil Mar

Hospitality Award

Belize Chocolate Company

San Pedro

Hotel of the Year

The Lodge at Chaa Creek


Small Accommodation of the Year

Cayo Espanto

San Pedro

Tour Guide of the Year

Carlos Hernandez

Ian Anderson’s Cave Branch

Tour Operator of the Year

Chukka Belize

Belize City

Restaurant of the Year

The Grove House by Chef Adan


Festival of the Year

Caye Caulker Lobster Festival

Caye Caulker

Tourism Site of the Year

St. Herman’s Blue Hole National Park


Top Performing Hotel

Grand Caribe

San Pedro

Tour Guide Association of the Year

San Pedro Tourist Guide Association

San Pedro

In addition, the Minister’s Award went to IIsa Villanueva from Placencia Village, while the Lifetime Achievement Award went to Ian & Ella Anderson of Ian Anderson’s Caves Branch.

The BTB would like to congratulate all the winners of the 16th National Tourism Awards as well as all nominees for the excellent work throughout the year!

The Belize Tourism Board (BTB) held its 16th National Tourism Awards on Saturday, October 22nd. The event was a grand celebration of Belize’s booming tourism industry and the people who work tirelessly to make Belize one of the best tourism destinations in the region. Here are some highlights of that event…

Posted By: Marty

Re: The 2018 Annual Tourism Awards - 10/23/18 06:06 PM

Short videos for each winner....

Belize Frontline Person Of The Year 2018 - Nikita Young - Chabil Mar Villas
A frontline employee who demonstrates excellent communication and interpersonal skills, the ability to welcome guests with great Belizean hospitality, is knowledgeable about Belize and provides a memorable experience.

Belize Top Performing Hotel Of The Year 2018 - Grand Caribe

Belize Hotel Of The Year 2018 - The Lodge At Chaa Creek
A licensed hotel with ten or more rooms where service exceeds excellence with demonstrated positive attitude and attentiveness of staff. Offering exceptional value for money, equipped with outstanding facilities and amenities, innovation and the ability to provide visitors with a truly authentic and all encompassing Belize Experience.

Belize Restaurant Of The Year 2018 - The Grove House By Chef Adan
A restaurant that offers an exemplary dining experience and demonstrates service excellence. The menu offers a wide array of cultural cuisines and caters to a divers palate.

Belize Site Of The Year 2018 - St Herman's Blue Hole National Park
A tourism site frequently visited, typically for its inherent or exhibited natural or cultural value, historical significance, and nature or built beauty.

Includes but not limited to Archaeological Sites, National Parks, Reserves, and Sanctuaries.

Belize Small Accommodation Of The Year 2018 - Cayo Espanto
A licensed small accommodation with less that ten rooms that captures the essence of warmth and homeliness, displays customer service excellence, outstanding facilities, and a personalized touch in delivering the Belize brand to its visitor.

Belize Tour Guide Association Of The Year 2018 - San Pedro Tour Guide Assocation
A registered tour guide association that is representative of, and is accountable to, its membership and the tourism industry. The association demonstrates professional business ethics and is creative and unique in addressing the needs of its members. Flexible in adapting to change and industry growth.

Belize Tour Operator Of The Year 2018 - Chukka Belize
A licensed tour operator that offers a variety of tours which excel in service, marketing, creativity, uniqueness, safety, reliability and value for money. The tour operator shall demonstrate a strong commitment to sustainable and innovative business practices.

Lifetime Achievement Award 2018 - Ian & Ella Anderson of Ian Anderson’s Caves Branch

2018 Ministers Tourism Award - IIsa Villanueva

Belize Tour Guide Of The Year 2018 - Carlos Hernandez
A licensed tour guide demonstrating a wealth of knowledge and ability to capture the attention of an audience. Additional the tour guide shall provide excellent communication and interpersonal skills, positive attitude, creativity and service excellence.

Major Festival Of The Year 2018 - Caye Caulker Lobster Festival
This award is in recognition of annual cultural festivals or events including major exhibitions that, create substantial economic impact and attract visitors and at the same time generate national or international media profile and positively promote the destination.

Hospitality Award Of The Year 2018- Belize Chocolate Company
© 2019 Ambergris Caye Belize Message Board