AmbergrisCaye.com Home
Posted By: Marty Comments by Huffington Post Travel Editor - 04/07/15 10:31 AM

Letter to the Editor: Suzy Strutner

Dear Editor:

My name is Suzy Strutner. I am a travel writer, author and editor for the Lifestyle & Travel Sections @ HuffingtonPost.

It is of my foremost importance to keep my readership up-to-date on my travel experiences, travel news and changes in various travel destinations.

Last week, my travel allowed me to have another 2-days stop on Ambergris Caye. Again, I wanted to have a short and private vacation stay with business observations mixed in. I had a pleasurable time!

I was urged to also inform the community about my newest impressions; and possibly beforehand.

Tourism has increased quite impressively on the island, my congratulations. Becoming famous unfortunately, has also lead to some structural and organizational problems, which have now become quite apparent. All these are impacting tourism pleasure one way or the other:

* The island still has all the potential to develop into a real treasure destination designed for high-end travel clientele without dependence on the much tougher mass and package travel market. - A Positive

* San Pedro and surroundings: Visually clean appearances on house facades and enforcement on building style requirements and height limitations seems to become one of the foremost ranked necessity to achieve. Little seems to be done to maintain, expand or rebuild a "cozy Central American building character" and appearance. -Can be Fixed