AmbergrisCaye.com Home
Posted By: Krysta Belizean Nursery Rhymes/Folk Tales/Songs - 02/18/14 06:11 PM
Good afternoon!

I'm writing to see if anyone would be interested in participating in my collection of Belizean nursery rhymes and folk tales for children. This is for my graduate school project. Please see the information below, if interested. Thanks!

Pennsylvania State University, University Park
Principal Investigator: Lloydia Price-Murillo

Email Subject Line: Request to participate in research about Belizean folk-tales, songs and nursery rhymes

Hello, allow me to introduce myself, my name is Lloydia K. Price-Murillo. I am currently a doctoral candidate at Penn State University, University Park studying early childhood education. I am studying the emergent literacy practices of parents with their preschool-aged children. I am also interested in how families prepare their children for school. As a Belizean-American I recognize the importance and value of different cultural perspectives and I realize that many cultures engage in academics and education in various ways.

Today I am contacting you because I am soliciting volunteers to participate in a research study designed to collect nursery rhymes, songs, folk tales, and movement games specific to Belize and to the Belizean community here in the United States.

Criteria to participate are:
� Belizean or Belizean-American heritage
� Access to Internet
� Memory of Belizean song or nursery rhyme
� Ability to type up a familiar song or rhyme or describe a game
� Possibility of recording a song, rhyme or game for submission