AmbergrisCaye.com Home
Posted By: hilaryd Jobs??? - 03/24/05 05:25 PM
I fell in love with the island while on vacation and am looking to move down there. Does anybody know of some job openings? I have a degree in Hotel & Restaurant Management and a Bachelor's in Business Manangement.
Posted By: streetchie Re: Jobs??? - 03/28/05 09:58 PM
As many on this board will tell you, come to San Pedro to spend money, not make it. There are no jobs here.
Posted By: SP Daily Re: Jobs??? - 03/28/05 10:12 PM
Sure are lots of expats working here...
Posted By: kangaroo Re: Jobs??? - 03/30/05 08:03 AM
I am one of the expats working here but it is certainly not for the money! I've been here about three months and find that I can get by (and be happy) on the mere pittance I'm being paid. If you are ready for a roommate (or more than one) and fewer amenities than you might be used to you might be able to make it work ~ (this assumes you're able to come virtually debt free.) This is definitely a fabulous place to be so keep looking, and good luck to you!

;-)
Posted By: Sir Isaac Newton Re: Jobs??? - 03/30/05 06:40 PM
Having credentials in the tourism industry will definitely be advantageous for you.

Properties are constantly looking for qualified management/trainers. Your past industry related work experience will also affect your ability to find suitable employment and get a work permit.

Belize is growing exponentially and likewise the tourism industry here. With a small labour pool, more foreigners are being employed here than ever before.

My advice is to broadcast your resume to numerous resort properties. If you are offered a position, allow the resort to file for your working papers (make this a condition of employment). It is not a difficult process if the proper procedures are taken.