Belize Entertainment Awards 2005

The Island Newspaper, Ambergris Caye, Belize            Vol. 15, No. 49            December 15, 2005

Features: Search Issues | Read Back Issues | Subscriptions | Merchandise Ordering Information

Mr. Wilfred Peters proudly accepting his Lifetime Achievemnet Award from Santino Castillo.

Belizean Entertainment greeting their fans outside on the red carpet. Group member Benge-T commented to The Sun on their win for Dance Hall/Reggae Group, “It feels good, I mean you really cannot express the feeling. I am very proud of our group who worked and are still working countless hours trying to put professional work together to satisfy our beloved fans. Thank you very much San Pedranos for voting for us and also the surrounding islands and everyone countrywide, we really appreciate it.”

Poet of the Year Erwin X Jones getting interviewed on the red carpet by Keith Swift Channel 7 News.

Dillon Jones, Orange Walk nominee for Best Radio DJ Personality, waving to the fans as he walks the red carpet.

Tanya Carter, Female Vocalost of the Year, alongside Male Vocalist of the Year Ryzden Claire. Both put on spectacular performances. With images on the big screen, Ryzden's emotions were clearly felt along with his passion to music. Congratulations to both!

Soca Brukdown Fusion Artist, the lovely Leela Vernon, delighted the crowd with an impromptu performance.

Last Saturday, December 10th, 2005, Belizean artists walked down the red carpet anxiously for a night of grandiose festivities and spectacular honors. Belizean “celebrities” donned their flashiest apparel while walking into the Bliss Institute for the Performing Arts to find out whether they were winners in their particular genres at the 2nd Annual Belize Entertainment Awards.

   Camera lights flashed, while video cameras recorded all night long. The grand gala was organized by Global Promotions and it proved to be a “can’t miss” for next year.

   The show’s hosts Kalilah Enriquez and Neal Hall from K-TV fame entertained all with their delightful jokes and happy banter. Awards were presented for various categories with an introductory performance in each genre.

   Taking the coveted prizes for the night are as follows: Album of the Year – Proud to be a Christian by Johnathan Kidd, Poet – Erwin X Jones, Radio Disc Jockey Personality – EJay Hill from Krem Radio, Male Vocalist – Ryzden Claire, Gospel Band – Heavenlies, Female Vocalist – Tanya Carter, Dance Hall/Reggae Group – Belizean Entertainment, Dance Hall/Reggae Artist – Ras Indio, Soca Brukdown Fusion Artist – Leela Vernon, Punta Rock Artist – Supa G, and Sound System – Belizean Movements. Special recognition was given to Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients, Mr. Wilfred Peters and Governor General Sir Colville Young.

   The night ended with a lively, energetic and great performance from Dance Hall/Reggae Group winners, Belizean Entertainment. The San Pedro Sun congratulates all winners and wishes them the best in next year’s awards.
Search go!
| | Island Info | Community | History | Visitor Center |
Belize News | | Messages |

Copyright © San Pedro Sun. Design by Casado Internet Group

San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, Belize News