National Tourism Award nominations needed

The Island Newspaper, Ambergris Caye, Belize            Vol. 16, No. 48            December 7, 2006

Features: Search Issues | Read Back Issues | Subscriptions | Merchandise Ordering Information

It is that time of the year again, the Belize Tourism Board (BTB) is accepting nominations for its annual BTB National Tourism Award. Yes, the 7th Annual award ceremony is here!

    In 2000, the BTB first created these awards to honor excellence in the tourism industry. Its sole intention was to recognize the outstanding contributions of individuals and establishments to the development of the tourism industry. And, so it has.

    The ceremony will be held on January 26th, 2007. Representatives of the tourism industry, as well as the general public are asked to select individuals, businesses or organizations that they believe have made beneficial changes to, or have made a positive impact on Belize’s tourism industry. If you were impressed by the quality of service you received in any of the following categories, then do your part to ensure that they receive the recognition that they deserve.

    Awards for nominations include Hotel of the Year, Tour Operator of the Year, Corporate Organization of the Year, Frontline Person of the Year, Environmental Organization of the Year, Education Award of the Year, Cultural Award of the Year, Receptive Service, Small Hotel of the Year, and Small Vendor of the Year. Minister of Tourism Honorable Godfrey Smith will choose the recipient of the “Minister’s Award.” “Tourism has become a way of life for many of our Belizean people. It is an industry that has seen much growth and received great recognition,” commented Tourism Minister, Godfrey Smith. “The annual National Tourism Awards serves to recognize our industry personnel who have committed to the development of tourism in Belize over the years. Tourism is the only industry that reaches so far into our communities making each of us a part of the singular experience that we call Belize.” Lifetime Achievement Award is chosen by the Tourism Awards Selection Committee and is dedicated to a person who has been active in the tourism industry and who has shown tremendous dedication and commitment in the development of tourism in Belize. 2006 winner of this prestigious award was San Pedro’s own Mr. Ramon Nuñez.

    Nominations must be received at the Belize Tourism Board by January 5th, 2007 in order to commence the processing of the nomination forms and the naming of the recipients. The National Tourism Awards 2007 nominations may be made at

    For further information, contact Michelle Bowers by calling the Belize Tourism Board at 223-1913.
Search go!
| | Island Info | Community | History | Visitor Center |
Belize News | | Messages |

Copyright © San Pedro Sun. Design by Casado Internet Group

San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, Belize News