New Cabinet sworn in

On August 31st, 1998 Prime Minister Said Musa held a meeting with the 26 PUP members of the House of Representatives in his Belmopan office.

Following discussions with the Representatives, the Prime Minister announced the members of the new Cabinet. They are:

Prime Minister, Minister of Finance and Foreign Affairs: Hon. Said Musa
Senior Minister: Rt. Hon. George Price
Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Natural Resources & the Environment: Hon. John Briceño
Minister of Public Utilities, Transport and Communications: Hon. Maxwell Samuels
Minister of National Security and Immigration: Hon. Jorge Espat
Minister of Budget Planning & Management, Economic Development, Investment & Trade: Hon. Ralph Fonseca
Minister of Sugar Industry, Local Government and Latin American Affairs: Hon. Florencio Marin
Minister of Human Development, Women and Youth: Hon. Delores Balderamos Garcia
Minister of Industry, Commerce, Public Services and Labour: Hon. Jose Coye
Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries: Hon. Daniel Silva
Minister of Works: Hon. Henry Canton
Minister of Education and Sports: Hon. Cordel Hyde
Attorney General and Minister of Housing: Mr. Dickie Bradley
Minister of Tourism: Hon. Mark Espat
Minister of Health: Hon. Servulo Baeza
Minister of Rural Development and Culture: Hon. Marcial Mes
The Chief of Staff in the Prime Minister's Office: Mr. Godfrey Smith
The Cabinet Secretary: Mr. Robert Leslie
The new Cabinet was sworn in Tuesday, September 1st, 1998 at 9 a.m. by the Governor-General, Sir Colville Young who said he was extremely pleased at the peaceful transition of Government and at the triumph of democracy for the Belizean people.

During the ceremony, Mr. Dickie Bradley was appointed as a Senator before being sworn in as Attorney General and Minister of Housing.

Prime Minister Musa announced that the other elected representatives who did not obtain a Ministry would be appointed to head the various soon-to-be upgraded Standing Committees of the House of Representatives. He also revealed the appointments of Mrs. Silvia Flores from Dangriga as the new Speaker of the House of Representatives and Mrs. Elizabeth Zabanneh as the President of the Senate.

New Cabinet sworn in

Copyright San Pedro Sun. Design by Casado Internet Group

San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, Belize News