San Pedro Garifuna Committee elects new BOD

The Island Newspaper, Ambergris Caye, Belize            Vol. 9, No. 47            December 9, 1999

Features: Search Issues | Read Back Issues | Subscriptions | Merchandise Ordering Information

As witnessed at the many impressive programs leading to Garifuna Settlement Day last month, the Garifuna Community clearly showed their presence on the island. At a recent meeting held at the San Pedro Town Hall, a new Board of Directors for the San Pedro Garifuna Committee was selected. Present for the meeting were invited guests Sebastian Cayetano of the Belize City Garifuna Council and Mr. Fabian Cayetano of the Dangriga Garifuna Council.

    The main responsibilities of the new Board of Directors is to promote their culture throughout the year and ensure participation in the various town activities. Most importantly is the planning of their annual Garifuna Settlement Day Celebrations. The election was done through a nomination process and included the following as the 1999 - 2000 Board of Directors for the San Pedro Garifuna Committee: President - Joseph Elijio; Vice President - Robert Palacio; Secretary - Elsy Soriano; Assistant Secretary - Margarita Medina; Treasurer - Julia Martinez; Assistant Treasurer - Santos Elijio and Councilors - Roanny Flores, Olga Valentine, Victor Noralez and Justo Nuñez.
Search go!
| | Island Info | Community | History | Visitor Center |
Belize News | | Messages |

Copyright © San Pedro Sun. Design by Casado Internet Group

San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, Belize News