Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OP Offline
Thank you for your advice Capt Jeff. I have reached a point in my life where I do not want to deal with the hassles of winter and spending six months of the year chilled to the bone. I am investigating moving to a warmer climate (I live in Canada on Lake Huron)and am curious about the people who visit Belize, would be capable of living there but do not live there. It sounds like living in paradise (I am sure there are exceptions). If one has a marketable trade (I am a chef) why not live in Ambergris Caye rather than visit? Is there something I haven't figured out yet that makes it difficult to live there? Does happiness become boring too?

The price of land seems within grasp, the crime rate is comparable or lower than other "resort" areas, people speak English. What are the barricades?

C
C
PattiCake, I'm certainly no expert in living in Belize, just a visitor, but I'll respond.

Have you spent much time in any of the "Bannana Republics" and had dealings with the governments or locals? Quite different than you may be used to. Corruption abounds.

They will not let you work a job that can be done by a local citizen. Jobs for them are too hard to come by and fiercely protected. While a chef is marketable in the US or Canada, SP has roughly 1 restaraunt for every 3 citizens already (slight exageration). I doubt you would ever get a work permit as a chef. You have to reside there for awhile before you can apply for a work permit. You will have to have political connections and cash. I have even heard of nurses who can't get work permits there.

They may allow you to buy a restaraunt and employ Belizeans as chefs, but it is doubtful they would even let you work in the establishment that you own.

If you haven't read it, I highly recommend Herman Wouks book "Don't Stop the Carnival" to give you some accurate ideas of what you are up against.