Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
E
EricL Offline OP
OP Offline
E
I've had the dream of living island style for over 10 years. Both my daughters will be graduating college over the next year. It's time for my dream. I have 15 years experience of maintenance and construction. My resume includes 5 years Project Coordinator for a redevolpment company that handled 500+ apartments at one time. In addition, I have 10 years of self employment in the remodeling/construction field. ANY information I can receive to make my goal become reality would be appreciated. Eric

You and a million other people. Sorry Eric.
Construction in Belize and in the US are very different. You'd probably do better on the mainland. I think construction companies are pretty well sewed up on the island. I wouldn't advise trying to be competition for the life-long established local companies. They are good and they know what they are doing.

Peter?...no input here? smile
Amanda? Help the guy out..LOL

A
A
Plus they just laid off half the island. Slow.

It is true that all business is terribly slow at the moment. But the island can always use a good contractor. The good ones are in high demand and folks are still building, remodeling, demolishing etc.

This will certainly be a rough year for many people and some adjustments in salaries and rates will probably be in order.

However, once a fellow has seen his daughters both graduate from college I for one believe he should give HIS dream a shot.

This is all about expectations. If EricL has a little savings and wants to work to keep busy - no problem. If EricL needs to make a living in order to survive - well, now might not be the best time to start on this new venture.

P
P
Yes, but that would be just as true in (say) the US as here.