New Cabinet sworn-in

The Island Newspaper, Ambergris Caye, Belize            Vol. 13, No. 9            March 13, 2003

Features: Search Issues | Read Back Issues | Subscriptions | Merchandise Ordering Information

Press Release - Government of Belize - March 7th, 2003 - The Hon. Said Musa was this morning sworn-in as Prime Minister of Belize for the second time in a row following Wednesday's (March 5th) general elections, which returned the People's United Party to government for the next five years.

    The Prime Minister has appointed a Cabinet of thirteen members led by the Prime Minister who assumes additional responsibilities for Education and the Public Service. Hon. Francis Fonseca was appointed a Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister.

    The Hon. John Briceño was appointed Deputy Prime Minster and Minister of Natural Resources and the Environment, Commerce and Industry. Hon. Ralph Fonseca has been assigned responsibilities for the Ministries of Finance and Home Affairs, and the Hon. Mark Espat was appointed Minister of Economic Development, Tourism and Culture.

    The other ministers appointed to the Cabinet are: Hon. Vildo Marin, Minister of Works, Transport and Communications; Hon. Godfrey Smith, Attorney General and Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation; Hon. Cordel Hyde, Minister of Housing; Hon. Jose Coye, Minster of Health; Hon. Marcial Mes, Minister of Human Development, Local Government and Labor; Hon. Servulo Baeza, Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries; and Hon. Sylvia Flores, Minister of Defense and National Emergency Management. The Hon. Eamon Courtenay was appointed a Senator and assigned responsibilities as Minister of Investment and Foreign Trade. The former Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation, Hon. Assad Shoman, was appointed an Ambassador with ministerial rank and Chief Foreign Affairs Representative for the Government of Belize.

    Four Ministers of State were also appointed.They are:Hon. Ainslie Leslie in the Ministry of Natural Resources, the Environment, Commerce and Industry; Hon. Ismael Cal in the Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries; Hon. Agripino Cawich in the Ministry of Finance and Home Affairs; and Hon. Dave Burgos in the Ministry of Works, Transport and Communications.Ministers of State are not members of Cabinet, but may attend Cabinet meetings at the invitation of the Prime Minister.

    The Prime Minister, Ministers and Ministers of State were administered the oath of allegiance and office by His Excellency the Governor General at a brief ceremony held this morning at Belize House in Belmopan.

    Editor's Note: The San Pedro Sun contacted the Government Press Office in Belmopan, who stated that specific allocations for Cooperatives, Public Utilities, Immigration, Citrus, and Sugar Ministries were not available as of press time. These appointments were to be discussed in a Cabinet meeting held on Tuesday, March 11, 2003.
Search go!
| | Island Info | Community | History | Visitor Center |
Belize News | | Messages |

Copyright © San Pedro Sun. Design by Casado Internet Group

San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, Belize News