San Pedro "SeaHawks" - new name, new players

The Island Newspaper, Ambergris Caye, Belize            Vol. 13, No. 16            May 1, 2003

Features: Search Issues | Read Back Issues | Subscriptions | Merchandise Ordering Information

The newly christened San Pedro SeaHawks (formerly Turquoise) will compete in their first official tournament this weekend. The name SeaHawk was chosen to complement and reflect the team's new image. It is derived from the local word for the Osprey or "Billy Hawk" and is a tribute to the great fishermen of the islands of San Pedro and Caye Caulker - the Osprey being one of the greatest fish-catching birds.

        Making up the San Pedro SeaHawk roster for this weekend's knockout play will be the following: Charlie Slusher, Jose Lara, Rene Rodriguez, Jarbi Alvarez, Flavio Pinero, Bunny Gentle, Raul Celiz, Orlando "Landy" Pinelo, Eden "Yellowman" Rowley, Oscar Piston, Sanjay Pitts, Kareem Orio, Richard McKoy Jr., Henry Sagastume, Jairo Sandoval, Luis "Wicho" Uribio, Herson "Sapo" Meda, Ruben Francois, Ashton Lewis, Kent "Bob" Gabourel, Clive Young, Carlos Briceño, Jason "Taiga" Sutherland, and Mario "Calusha" Sikonga.

    The Belize Premier Football League (BPFL) "knockout" tournament will begin this Saturday. On Sunday, May 4th, the San Pedro SeaHawks will challenge Juventus in Ambergris Stadium at 3:00 p.m.

    Stay tuned to The San Pedro Sun, the official newspaper of the San Pedro SeaHawks, for exciting results of tournament play.

Knockout tournament rules & schedule

    According to the Belize Premier Football League, the "Prime Minister's Cup" knockout tournament will be played based on the following criteria.

    All clubs have been seeded according to the final rankings of the 2002-2003 regular tournaments. The winner of each pair to advance will be determined by the goal aggregate. At the end of regulation time in the second game of any pairing, any round, if the goal aggregate is even, the winner will be determined by: 1) scoring the "Golden Goal" in sudden death overtime, 2) converting the most goals in a penalty shoot-out.

    The games scheduled are as follows: Thursday, May 1st - Jacinto Ville United vs. Sagitun, Toledo Union Field at 4:00 p.m. Sunday, May 4th - Kulture Yabra vs. Grigamandala, MCC Grounds at 4:00 p.m. San Pedro SeaHawks vs. Juventus, Ambergris Stadium at 3:00 p.m. Real Verdes vs. Valley Pride, Norman Broaster Stadium at 4:00 p.m. Friday, May 9th - Valley Pride vs. Real Verdes, Isodoro Beaton Stadium at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, May 10th - Sagitun vs. Jacinto Ville United, Michael Ashcroft Stadium at 7:30 p.m. Sunday, May 11th - Juventus vs. San Pedro SeaHawks, People's Stadium at 3:30 p.m. Grigamandala vs. Kulture Yabra, Carl Ramos Stadium at 3:30 p.m.

    Games scheduled are correct as of press time Tuesday, April 29, 2003.
Search go!
| | Island Info | Community | History | Visitor Center |
Belize News | | Messages |

Copyright © San Pedro Sun. Design by Casado Internet Group

San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, Belize News