Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
D
OP Offline
D
Hi

I'm a translator and am considering spending a year or so in Belize, telecommuting. I would have no source income in Belize, and no employer in the country. What visa would be most appropriate? I'm too young for QR (40).

Thanks for the feedback

I'd recomnmend checking that at the Embassy, not on a message board......JMO.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _________________ _ _ _ _ _ _
But then what do I know, I am but a mere caveman
Correct me if I'm wrong, but this is what has been happening for the last 2 years. The first 6 months are no problem, going once a month to get your visa renewed in San Pedro at the immigation office. I'm assuming you are a U.S. citizen. Its after those first 6 months that immigration has you going round and round. The solution that several people I know are using is to exit the country for several weeks and to reenter, then it seems you start over again. If you stay past 6 months without exiting you will have to go to Belmopan 2x a month to drop your passport off and pick it up, plus there is another piece of paperwork you have to fill out and you will have to supply a set of photos of yourself for their files.
--Lee

M
M
I lived in S.P. for 8 monthe in "98, and at that time you needed to leave the country for 48 hours, after 6 months. I went to Chetumal for two days of shopping, had no trouble reentering Belize.

In June I am planning to move to S.P. and stay a year I think this method could still be used.

Any one know any differant?

Why is it a problem if you are not looking for a work permit in Belize and are only working and making money through the US? I am interested in a similar situation, living there 6 months and working through my computer on the internet back to my job in the US. Is this going to present a problem there?

Thank you.