Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 4 1 2 3 4
P
P
I'm not sure PADI should be making moral judgements on a company based on an alleged employees actions. I have no first hand knowledge of the story facts other than the above and trying to sift the truth from fiction of the rampant and potentially exaggerated island talk flying around. If a case had been taken to a Court of Law, the defendant found guilty AND Amigos kept him in employment I can see them protecting their interests name and clientele.

This seems beyond their scope and I'd talk to a lawyer if there's not more to this than meets the eye.

N
N
I think what we're talking about here is assault and, to me at least, assault IS a safety issue.

C
cm815 Offline OP
OP Offline
C
Where do the dive shops on the Island get their tanks filled??

P
P
Several do their own but Amigos is prob the largest supplier.

C
cm815 Offline OP
OP Offline
C
So are the other PADI shops getting their air from a NON-PADI shop?
Wonder what PADI would say about that?

Padi's response to my request for details.

Byron,

Following the published Quality Management procedures, the members are notified of the concerns and are required to send their perspective in writing. Mr. Paz can share the details of the inquiry if he chooses.

Thank you again for your concern,

Linda Van Velsan

If PADI received complaints or concerns about the training being done, which is what is implied in the letter at the top of the thread, they MUST look into it. Likely they found training was not meeting their standards, or perhaps they received multiple complaints that were not published here. Dive shops must meet certain standards, are subject to audits, must jump through many hoops and probably pay for the right to REPRESENT the organization and use the PADI name for profit. PADI reserves the right to choose who represents them and their $$$ name. We may never know the whole story.