Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
T
Toodles Offline OP
OP Offline
T
I am a 19 year old woman, and I am contemplating a move to Belize. Within the next year, I want to save enough money to head over there for a three month period so I can see if it's something I really want to commit myself to. I speak excellent English, very little Spanish and a little German(which apparently has a population there?). I have some accounting experience and a little college.

I have never left the country before, and I am very inexperienced in the ways of other cultures. I feel that I am a very excepting person, and I don't have problems with people of different colors, languages, beliefs and cultures.

How does one actually prepare for a big move like this? How does a person get their passport and various travel permits? Will I need to get new shots? What kind of things can one not find in Belize? I have read both on this forum and others that phone, internet and electricity is very expensive. Why is this? Do most state-side phone companies still do international roaming charges?

I would want to live by the ocean, so I can wake up in the morning and see blue for miles. Are there there resorts in San Pedro? Do those resorts usually hire English speaking ladies for a livable rate? How does one get a work permit in Belize?

I keep on reading that it is possible to live in Belize comfortably on about 500 US dollars a month. Is this true? Do people coming into the country make that much money? I read that in order to even get hired, the employer has to fill out papers saying that no native citizen can fill the position.